Kickstarter Experience Like Being on Shark Tank!

apiniya

Before we began the semester nine weeks ago, I noticed the kickstarter assignment, and knew that when the time came I would help an older friend of mine who could really benefit from a kickstarter campaign.

The wind was soon taken out of my sails when I found out that kickstarter projects can’t fundraise for charity. I can’t believe that all this time I thought kickstarter was a universal fund raising platform.  I’m not sure how I got my wires crossed, maybe it was the “guy who received all those donations to make potato salad” that gave me that misconception :*).

After I realized that kickstarter was just for creating something to share with others, I began perusing all the categories to see if there was something that caught my eye. The site was a little daunting because there were so many categories to choose from. Seeing as gourmet cooking is one of my hobbies, I decided to zero in on the food category.  To better drill down the more than 600+ food projects, I noticed a “LOCAL” option and soon found about 30 projects in my area to support a neighbor in their culinary pursuits. This is kind of fun going through the different possibilities with most of the campaigns looking to get their product off the ground such as vegan twinkies, hummingbird cake pops, an organic food truck for toddlers (was that right?!). I was enjoying the feeling that I was part of the Shark Tank when…bingo! That’s the one…gourmet hot sauce. I’ve had a love affair with hot sauce since I was just a wee gal.  I have a talent of withstanding the most infernal, abusive hot food items, and even competed in a hot pepper eating contest in Tijuana.  I put hot sauce on everything, even salads. I am always in pursuit of a hot sauce that sports different flavors and this lovely, young couple began the Apinya line consisting of a ginger/garlic Thai Chili Sauce, Thai Basil Aji Sauce inspired by the Peruvian aji verde salsa, Moroccan Coconut Harissa, and Pumpkin Panang.

Their new “Sauce No. 5″ is the result of their kickstarter which was just unveiled as Indian Ghost Vindaloo.

They set up a pretty neat system where a person can determine what they donate based on receiving some of the homemade sauce such as $12 for one bottle, $20 for two bottles, 30 for three, etc. They began their campaign on Sept 11 and made their $5000 goal.  I decided to check to see if they had their own website  http://apinya.co/ and they sell the items for $6 a bottle and decided to make a purchase of each of the flavors.  Mmmm can’t wait!

7 comments on “Kickstarter Experience Like Being on Shark Tank!

  1. Hi Sylvia!
    You’re 100% right when yo say that Kickstarter is just like Shark Tank. I was thinking the same thing while I was browsing all of the products.
    I was a little surprised as well that Kickstarter was not used for charity. I guess that more I think about it it makes sense since it is primarily a organization wanting to “kickstart” artists and creative individuals.
    How cool that you were able to find local projects in your area. I was unaware that that was even an option. Now I want to go back and find projects that are close to me!
    Let us know when you get the hot sauce! It sounds like it is going to be an exciting campaign!

    Like

    • Hi Audrey!

      I did find out that there were some decent sites that have more crowdfunding options. Forbes lists this one just behind Kickstarter:

      2. Indiegogo
      While Kickstarter maintains a tighter focus and curates the creative projects approved on its site, Indiegogo approves donation-based fundraising campaigns for most anything — music, hobbyists, personal finance needs, charities and whatever else you could think of (except investment). They have had international growth because of their flexibility, broad approach and their early start in the industry.

      Thanks for bopping the gong Audrey!

      Like

  2. Hi Sylvia!
    What a fun comparison you made with Shark Tank! Kickstarter really is a real-life version of the show, and what makes it really fun is that anyone can decide to fund the projects. Also, the project creator is still able to retain ownership of the project, which may be an incentive for someone who is considering going on the show. I love that Kickstarter has so many different kinds of projects, there aren’t too many limitations- aside from the non-profit one. How cool is it that you found a bunch of new hot sauces? I bet they will be great. The best products always seem to come from small companies who concentrate on their products. Please let us know if oyu think the hot sauces are good! It was neat that you found culinary products that interest you. Kickstarter seems to have something for everyone! I would love to use Kickstarter for my next project idea. It would certainly be fun to have a project to share with others!

    Like

    • Hey Jennifer,

      The coolest thing is that the young married couple entrepreneurs live only 20 miles from me and I’m actually going to take a trip to pick up my hot sauce so I can meet them. The wife is of Thai heritage and her husband travels the world through his job and finds great international hot herbs and spices induced with the basic Thai recipes. It’s a very innovative concept and will bring a whole new revolution to the hot sauce lines!

      Thanks for commenting Jennifer!

      Like

  3. Okay! I love your post. My first comment on someone’s blog was about how Kickstart reminded me of Shark Tank!!! Great minds think alike 🙂

    I love the show and right when I searched on Kickstarter, it reminded me of Shark Tank. It basically is the same concept in which you have to showcase your product in order to receive money to start the project. It is a great concept for projects that do not need an exponential amount of money. I think the website could grow into that though once the word spreads about Kickstarter. I had heard of the website previously but had never visited the website. There needs to be a tie in so that Internet users feel compelled to research projects. I chose not to go to the website until this past week for our blog assignment. It seems like a great concept so I would love to see the website succeed!

    Like

    • Howdy Victoria,

      Like you, I was a novice to the crowdfunding world. Forbes also mentioned that crowdfunding will continue to boom. “Collaboration on the web is an area of exponential growth. Crowdfunding, or collaborative funding via the web, is one of the standouts for growth in this evolving collaborative economy. The Crowdfunding Industry Report by Massolution put out data showing the overall crowdfunding industry has raised $2.7 billion in 2012, across more than 1 million individual campaigns globally. In 2013 the industry is projected to grow to $5.1 billion.”

      It’s amazing how a simple idea of building a website can do, especially in hopefully fulfilling the hopes and dreams of others.

      Like

Leave a Reply

