Link

My name is Sylvia Gethicker, originally from Buffalo, NY, and now reside in Alexandria, VA, where I spend my days as the Director of Communications and Public Relations for VSE Corporation.

  • One of the crazy highlights from my life is during 1998-2003 when I was a comedienne and emcee.  I had to give the fun life up when I realized the bag boy at the supermarket was making more than me!
  • My passion in life is helping the less fortunate.  In particular, I really have a deep spot for people who have been deeply hurt by a loved one and having a really hard time recovering.  Emotional pain is very hard to deal with and something we may feel is a “personal problem.” I recently began a non-profit called Loving Life Ministries which facilitates people to meet up with others who have been hurt and betrayed. Through guided discussions and cross support, those who have been in a rut slowly learn how to rise from the ashes and begin to live and love life again to its fullest.
  • I retired from the U.S. Marines in 1997 and held positions as Spokesperson, Media Relations Chief, Public Affairs Officer/NCO, Community Relations Chief, Newspaper Editor and Marine Corps Combat Correspondent in places such as New York, Japan, North Carolina, Georgia, Washington, D.C, and San Diego.
  • I received my military journalism education through the Department of Defense Information School and graduated from Ashford University with a B.A. in Mass Communications and Journalism.
  • My Gator tie is with my daughter and son-in-law who both received their undergrad degrees and doctorates in Pharmacology.  They live in Tampa with my two cutie-pie granddaughters.  My son also lives in Tampa and works at the Hard Rock.dee graduation.png
  • My youngest daughter just graduated from high school.  We share a common passion for the theater and one of my highlights was seeing her cast recently as the wicked witch in the Wizard of Oz!
  • For “funzies” I like to coddle my two old dogs and three cool cats, do crossword puzzles, try new recipes, travel, watch movies and most importantly – laugh as often as possible!Luna and Elphy.jpg
  • The primary reason I’m taking social media classes is stay abreast of the cutting edge offerings and strategies in an ever-changing social media landscape.

More in about me

Thanks so much for letting me share…let’s have fun in class!

Leave a Reply

