Spreading Compassion…One Person at a Time

Greetings major government agency, or non-profit hiring official specializing in helping people,

I have spent the last eight years in corporate America—which on the surface may seem an unlikely environment where goodness and kindness prevails.  Prior to that, my profession was deep-rooted in the United States Marine Corps, a rough and tumble organization with seemingly little compassion.

However, I am here to tell you a bit of my story and how compassion and kindness flourishes in the most unlikely places and how I can bring this to core benefit to you as well.

But let’s talk quickly about my professional qualifications and skill sets.  I joined the Marine Corps fresh out of high school and trained as a photo journalist.  During my 20-year career I held positions as newspaper editor, spokesperson, media relations chief, Command Master Chief of the Fleet Home Town News Center, acting public affairs officer, bureau chief, public affairs chief, and Presidential Inaugural Committee Community Relations Chief.

Afterwards, I was a senior account manager at a PR and Marketing firm in Washington, DC, for several years before assuming my current role in DC as the director of communications and public relations for a government contractor.  I believe highly in continued professional development and am currently a masters of mass communications student at the University of Florida with a concentration in social media.

week 6 military

A need to help those alone and lonely

Early in the journey to find out that age-old quest for the true meaning of life and happiness—I soon discovered that I would experience the most joy and fulfillment whenever and wherever I was helping others.  It started by simply inviting Marines to my house during holiday meals to ensure they weren’t alone.  Over the years it advanced to being the head volunteer coordinator at Camp Pendleton for hundreds of families while military members were deployed for six months to a year at a time. Why take on so much responsibility and challenge? Besides seeing a need that very few were willing to raise their hand, I have been blessed with the gift of being a good leader, communicator, and organizer. I was also the first to extend this service beyond Camp Pendleton and to our single Marines parents and loved ones back home, with a network of almost 2,000 I communicated with daily and did my best to keep motivated.  Did I mention that I wasn’t getting paid for this?  Truly the best things in life are free.

I continue to support veterans and military families by being active in various wounded warrior projects, especially in hiring veterans and advocating for military families that have fallen on hard times. I also have a special place in my heart for those veterans and beyond suffering from emotional trauma, addiction and being homeless.

week 6 compassion

Helping financially and spiritually destitute Children as a family

Several years ago I went to my first Christian rock concert with my teenage daughter. We were introduced to Compassion International and since that time we’ve looked back. We signed up at the concert to sponsor a child and asked specifically for someone who had been on the waiting list the longest…435 days.  His name is Junior from the Dominican Republic.

week 6 juniorweek 6 Tadesseweek 6 Bijoy

Compassion International is a Christian child development organization dedicated to releasing children from poverty. The ministry is twofold: Working through local churches to provide child development programs to deliver children from economic, physical, social and spiritual poverty, enabling them to become responsible, fulfilled adults. Speaking out for children in poverty by informing, motivating and equipping others to become advocates for children. Each child served is ministered to personally, and each church partner tailors its programs to meet the specific needs of the children in its community. I would like to think that entire communities will feel the positive impact of our efforts because firmly believe that the compassion I extend to these children will impact their lives and ripple throughout their environments. Hopefully, the support I and others give can literally shape a child’s future, causing them to be a change-maker in the family, community, perhaps even the nation.

My teenage daughter and I have reached out to sponsor more “longest-waiting” children and besides Junior, have in our special extended family, Tadesse (Ethiopia), David (Bolivia), Pious (Ghana) and Bijoy (India).

week 6 piousweek 6 David

Loving Life Ministry

My most recent venture is creating my own non-profit, Loving Life Ministry. It took me awhile to complete all the paperwork to file with the IRS and was just given my acceptance letter as a recognized 501(c) 3 charity. My website is currently under construction with the secured web domiciles lovinglifeministry.org and lovinglifeministry.com. The primary impetus for creating the tax exempt status is so I can legally hold functions in public facilities such as county schools and community centers with the needed insurance policy.

week 6 emotionally-strong

Loving Life Ministry is designed to provide a group discussion/self-help setting to minister to those who are broken in spirit and emotionally drained by a loved one who has rejected or betrayed them to the point that they are finding it very difficult to recover from.  The ultimate objective is to make them confident, joyful members of society by learning to help themselves by getting to a place where they can trust and love again. My best friend, who happens to be a patent attorney, is partnering with me where we will provide snacks and beverages at each group guided discussion as well as all booklets and class materials, room rental fees, and any other out-of-pocket expenses because we believe so deeply in supporting this overlooked group of people.

Thanks for listening and letting me share just some of the ways that just regular people can do to make an impact and change lives…one person at a time!

https://www.pinterest.com/spgethicker/my-brand/

Leave a Reply

